h1

HAPPY NEW YEAR! Damn. The year certainly went b…

31 December 2004

HAPPY NEW YEAR!



Damn. The year certainly went by fast. Well, parts of it did, and parts of it just crawled on by. Nonetheless, I was surprised when Christmas hit. It didn’t even feel like Christmas at all even though I actively “prepared” for it by buying presents, decorating the tree, throwing a Christmas party, etc. (Actually, it was more like being swept up by the momentum of it all). To me, it just seemed like “Oh, it’s Christmas?”

Anyway, this year is done. This is the time of year when people make their “resolutions” for the coming year and cite off the things they vow to do better such as “eat healthier;” “exercise more”; yadda, yadda, yadda. Yup. I’m one of them. Making resolutions for the new year is almost obligatory, but then do people really follow up? Nah. Take the gym for example. Mine becomes super-packed in the beginning of the year (January to March). Then the stampede slowly dies down by late March and we’re back to the usual number of folks at the gym. Bottom line is that the advent of the new year propels us to re-assess our life and see what we can change. But I do that on a regular basis anyway. I mean I’m constantly evaluating my life and seeing what I can change about things I don’t like or am not satisfied with. I’m pretty content with mine. Oh yeah, I sure complain about things here and there and come off sounding like a spoiled brat. But those who know me know that I’m generally happy. Let’s face it. We all have problems/concerns/issues and we all have to deal with them, right?

So this new year, of course I’d like to work on a few things (not in any particular order):

  • Have a better relationship with mom and dad.

How: Let go of all bitterness and just deal with them. They are the world’s most generous parents but for some reason, I get annoyed easily with them. I’m trying. Otherwise, we have a close relationship and we talk a lot, but I feel like they don’t know me. I try to tell them about my issues with them but all they do is act insulted and then get mad. I gotta work on this one. I’ll have to do this one one day at a time.

  • Eat more vegetables.

How: I have to eat a salad for lunch at least 4 times a week. It’s not that I don’t even like them. In fact I love broccoli, kale, spinach, etc. It’s just that I eat crummy take-out a lot and that shit doesn’t include vegetables most of the time.

  • Cook dinner at least 4 times a week. Oh, this is going to be hard.

How: Cook at least 2 different entrees on Sunday, that way I just re-heat during the week. Also, I won’t be too tired when I rush home from the gym.

  • Practice on the guitar.

How: Set an hour or so 3 times a week to do scales, finger exercises, learn new chords, etc. No fail.

  • Work on novel.

How: Set an hour or so 2 times a week to write whatever (whether it be the actual story, free association, random thoughts, etc.). Also, be sure to go to library to write.

  • Stop buying books!

How: Go to library and borrow anything I want to read. Or bum off friends.

  • Go to the gym at least 3 times a week.

How: Well, there’s really no way around this one. I’m just happy I’ve actually been keeping up with it and going at least 3 times a week. I just have to keep it up. But I have to do more cardio.

  • Tackling my credit card debt once and for all. No new charges.

How: Stop using it for frivolous things like buying clothes. (So I have until today to shop! Hahaha…) Well I told myself I’m not going to shop until July. I’m going to give myself 6 months. I’ll allow myself to buy clothes, books, etc with cash only if need be, but I’m going to lay off the plastic. I’m just happy that this is my only form of debt (other than our mortgage, of course).

Okay, those are my top priorities for the year. I think I’m set. But I’ll leave you off with one tip (that I got from a TV show of all things, but also learned from family of course):

In the show ER a few seasons ago, Dr. Greene tells his daughter (before he dies) that she should be generous of herself. These 2 words ‘be generous’ are great words to live by. This incorporates all sorts of things and not just money. This means being generous with your time, being charitable, being less self-centered, etc.

So on that note, here’s a plug for my favorite non-profit organization and charity: UNICEF

Donate today in support of the South Asia Tsunami Relief or make a general donation.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Leave a comment