h1

a baby shower for ma fille de bébé!

21 January 2008

I haven’t updated in a while. Work’s been kicking my arse lately. With trials literally back-to-back, I haven’t had any downtime whatsoever. I haven’t been able to do anything fun worth blogging about –until this weekend that is! First off, I actually went out and watched a band (2 bands actually)! I saw Hot Hot Heat and The Editors on Thursday night with my friend Girlie; and then on Saturday, Girlie also threw me a surprise mini-shower! It definitely made my week!

Ms. G organized a ladies-only shower for me at Payard, this lovely French patisserie on the Upper East Side. She knows how much I like high-tea and the cool little sandwiches and cakes you get with it, so methinks this is why she held it there. (I would have been equally happy even it were in a little hole-in-the-wall dive, though). So being the great friend that she is, she gathered up my good friends (the ones she had contact info!), my mom, and my cousin, and organized a shower for me. She got me there under the pretext of inviting me to her surprise anniversary party (she said she was throwing it for her hubs). We enjoyed their tea service, and Girlie added some extras like champagne and caviar (I can’t even remember the last time I had caviar). And yes, I had a flute of champagne.

I was mostly surprised. (I say mostly because there were a few red flags here and there. Like for instance, things kept being bought off my registry within a matter of days when there had been zero action for the past 3 months. Or that she asked for the email addresses of 2 friends). Of course, I couldn’t be too sure and I was just fine with attending a party! Imagine my delight when I realized the party was actually for me! With the exception of my momma, she’s the only person who’s ever organized a shindig for me (surprise, or otherwise that I didn’t actively participate in)! And she did all this even before I asked her to be ninang to my baby girl!

I’m pretty darn thrilled to get a second shower. It’s not the norm to get another one after your first, and I feel absolutely lucky to have some good friends who are kind enough to shower me with much-needed gifts for our baby girl (just like they did the first time around for rockstar baby)! I got a big-ass gift basket filled with necessities like newborn diapers, wipes, portable crib sheets, and diaper cream. I also got some baby girl clothing (with a cupcake motif cuz I heart cupcakes), and a Target gift card that we can definitely use towards more necessities!

Thanks so much for your thoughtfulness in planning this all out G! And thank you to Sol, Gail, Julie, Jill, Trish, Abby, Rupal, Annie, Zooey, Jes, and Mao for your generosity (some of them weren’t able to make it, but were definitely there in spirit!)

Some pics:

me, my mom, and my cousin mao

tower of goodness

with Ms. G!

For more pictures, please click HERE!

13 comments

  1. it really feels good to be thrown a suprise party…even if you’ve almost guessed it. it feels good to be special for even a night 🙂

    time flies so fast…lapit na 😀 take care!

    Hi Mamajo! How is baby C?! Yes, the BIG day is coming (I feel like she’s ready to come out any day now!), and it was great to have a special little celebration just for her!


  2. im so sorry i missed this, glad you enjoyed the “surprise party”. 🙂 i must say, G really did a great job – yay, Ninang!

    Hey Abs! How are you and your little one?! It was a very nice surprise (I may have had some clues, but I was still surprised that day!), and I’m glad you were part of it! Ninang G did an excellent job! I actually told her I would’ve been equally happy if the soiree had been at Hagi!


  3. Yes!! At least you were mostly surprised. 😉 I would have loved to have been at Payard with you guys, but I hope you ate some caviar for me either way. Here’s to the new baby girl!

    Trish! I/We missed you lots! We totally wish you were there! Thanks so much for being there in spirit though!


  4. oh, that’s so sweet! it’s always pleasant to feel special, right? right!

    Hey Analyse! Yes, I felt very VIP! Hahaha…it’s nice to be the center of attention!


  5. Oh yeah, before I forget — you better reserve Girlie’s godmother service now because I think she’s godmother to like 15 kids! 😉

    Hey Trish! Yes, I actually asked her a week or so ago even before the party! That’s why I wrote that she’s already being a great ninang!


  6. that was nice. i’m sure g has thrown you a great party. I can see it in your smiles.

    g, how are you? long time no see!

    Hi Tito Rolly! It’s always great to have you stop by! G threw a fabulous bash and we had a lot of fun!


  7. oh wow! bebe no. 2! 😛

    happy new year kat!

    Hey Vina! Long time no see! Happy 2008 to you too!


  8. Looks and sounds like fun. Yay for cupcakes! Haha!

    Hey Tin! I’m a cupcake-fanatic!


  9. tito rolly – i’m good! just really busy with work but i’m blurking on everyone’s blogs lately.

    trish – kat’s kid will be my fifth godchild! that’s a lot for me. i’m expecting at least another one after kat’s – my bro when he has a kid and that is if he even asks me to be a godparent. other than that, i think i’m done being a godparent, i think…


  10. kat – you’re very welcome. i know you’ve been kind of worried lately with the new one coming soon. i hope the past weekend reminded you that you have a lot of friends that love you and look after you. we’re here for you, even if it’s just to watch the baby for fifteen minutes so you can take a shower or catch some zzz’s.

    Thanks G!


  11. Ooooh everything looks so great! Your friends are wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, Kat!

    Thanks Toni! I consider myself lucky!


  12. That cupcakes look awesome and delish. And you look stunning as ever! Nice to see you again Kat! So sorry if i wasnt able to be around here lately.


  13. you have a very sweet friend. i will be floored too if i get a surprise party like the one that your friend threw for you.



Leave a comment