h1

how to pick up a mom part 2, and other stories

1 April 2008

So I’m back on the prowl and trying to find mom to hang out with. As I wrote in my previous post “How to Pick Up a Mom,” I think it’s hard to find a fellow mom that’s in the same situation as you. Most of my friends are definitely not in the same boat as me. I only know about 4 other moms my age and we’re all in different stages (i.e., single mom, mom of three, etc). It also doesn’t help that some of them don’t live near me.

So I joined a “Mom’s Group” on a whim just to see how it was like. I didn’t even look for this group; a representative from the hospital I gave birth in called me and told me there was an upcoming meeting and that there would be refreshments, and was I interested in attending? For those who know me, “free food” is always a draw for me! LOL. They meet on Wednesdays and I was able to go because rockstar baby is in school on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. So I went last week and met three other moms –two of whom were in the same boat as moi: they recently gave birth to a new baby and dealing with a toddler at home. Score! It was fun to talk another live person about how they dealt with certain parenting issues. I think I’ll go to a few more meetings just to get to know these other moms. I especially liked this one mom who was a dead-ringer for Elle McPherson (except she had strawberry blonde hair and a European accent I just can’t place). She also had the body of Elle McPherson despite having a 3-month old and a 4-year old boy at home. Then again, she did have a nanny so maybe she has time to work out? There was this other mom who was Asian like me, has a 4-week old, and a 2-year old at home. Again, stick-skinny, but at least she and I had a lot of things in common.

Speaking of skinny –I have decided to start working out. It’s been about 6 weeks since I gave birth and I can’t fit into any of my pre-pregnancy jeans. Not that I’m panicking. I know I can still use the “I-just-gave-birth” excuse, and I remember being able to wear my old clothes around the 3-month mark. But I really didn’t think I look or felt fat until I tried about 8 pairs of jeans and realized I could only fit into my elastic-waist maternity ones. Egads. I know I’ve lost weight without even trying courtesy of breastfeeding, but my existing fat has been redistributed all to my thighs and arms! Hence the fact that I can’t even pull my jeans past my kneecaps. Oh well.

I have to take it day-by-day. Wanting to work out + reality = not having a regular work out schedule and zero energy. There are days when I wake up having only 5 hours of non-consecutive sleep and it takes sheer willpower just to go through the day without crashing. But there are also days when I wake up just fine because Lil’ C only woke up twice during the night. So I’ll work out on a case-by-case basis for now until she starts sleeping through the night.

As a motivation tool, I’m posting a “before” pic of me! Avert your eyes folks if you don’t want to be alarmed! Beware of the flab and muffin top!

My Before Pic: 1 month after giving birth
My "before" pic

My goal is to post a kick-arse “after” pic right next to this by July (my birthday month)! Of course, it doesn’t help that I just consumed a grande Iced Decaf Mocha and three butterscotch haystacks (thanks Girlie) as I typed this.

14 comments

  1. hey kat – it’s karen (mom of miles & julia). again…too funny how i can totally relate to your blog. i’m STILL trying to find a mom to hang out with too. most of the moms in miles’s daycare are on the older spectrum (or at least i think they’re older than me)…and for some reason they make me feel like i’m a kid that happens to have 2 kids. maybe it’s cause we live in the suburbs…it’s not as dynamic as the city. anyway – just want to let you know that i enjoy your blog…and i’m sure you’ll bounce back to your skinny self!!!


  2. and moi, i use the i’m-pregnant excuse at the moment, and loving it, lol. goodluck!


  3. I feel the same way about not being able to find someone in the same situation..! It blows! But I’m glad you were able to find a group of women that you could relate to. 😀

    And you look great 1 month after giving birth! I can only HOPE I look like that a month after I give birth. I don’t even see any evidence of the dreaded stretch marks! Luckyyyyy!!!! ;D

    Hugs to RSB and Lil C 🙂


  4. good luck kat! 😀 with your metabolism and everything, i have no doubt that you’ll be able to pull it off. 🙂 actually you still look better than i did past the 1st month mark (which means until now), haha! 😀 kick arse kat! 🙂


  5. I actually feel bad that I really can’t be the other mom that you share your worries with. In theory, I know everything about child development – but it is completely different when you are actually living it on day to day basis. On the days that I am really stressed out – I think about you (moms) that have to take care of another human being … and then I feel like my problems/woes are nothing compared to yours. *Sigh.


  6. you’re welcome.

    and, i’m sure you’ll be back in your old self in 3-months time. so, don’t get attached to your “mommy-friends”. they’re not as cool as us. =P


  7. it won’t be long and you’ll be back on your pre-pregnancy look, kat! 🙂


  8. What Girlie said. 😉


  9. I wish I had the guts to post a before and after pic…that would surely motivate me…

    I’m glad you like the Moms group. I have to do the same thing when we move to San Diego. come visit na!


  10. Kat- we’re both wishing for the same thing. Baby R is 4 weeks old and the flab is such a disappointment. I hope your sanity is still intact. take care and lots of rest your way.


  11. Hi Kat! How’s it going? Congratulations on your beautiful baby girl. I’m really sorry for being so M.I.A. during the time. Work has just been completely hellacious, in your own words, hehe. I hope y’all are doing fine. Take care!


  12. Oh my goodness! I’ve been away for so long! I just learned that Rockstar Baby now has a Rockstar Little Sister!

    Congratulations for your little bundle of joy, Kat (even if I’m late)!

    Can’t wait to see your “after” picture a month from now – that should help motivate me in my own Battle of The Bulge. 🙂


  13. hi kat!

    i missed coming here! anyway…do take it one day at a time–losing weight and getting more sleep. I am still struggling with losing weight, although the pants I bought right after pregnancy are looser now. I am getting more sleep now (my C is 5.5 months now). So it will all come…

    take care!!! Kisses to your bebes!


  14. […] meeting my goal.  She was talking about the goal I set for myself to be fit which I wrote about here.  The fact that she brought it up pretty much says she didn’t think I looked good!  LOL!  […]



Leave a Reply

