h1

the older we grow the more we know the less we show…

2 July 2008

Seven days from now, I will be one year older.  Thirty two years old.  Thismuch closer to thirty-five and this-much closer to 40!

When I was in my mid-teens, I thought 30 was old and that everyone had to start listening to lite FM music.  I thought that once you hit 30, this magical switch would turn off in your head and *boom* –you suddenly became an adult.  Well I definitely know better.  You’re only as old as you feel and no one can tell you how to act just because you’re a certain age.

So I’m going to be thirty two.  I may have two kids, but I still start sentences off with “when I grow up…”  I’m far from acting like a grown-up and I don’t think I look thirty-two.  Do I?  Eh, if I do, so what?  I am the mother of two kids after all, so I have bags under my eyes and look frumpy.  I’ve definitely earned the laugh lines around my mouth, and the fine lines that have started to creep under my eyes.  Still no crows-feet though! Oh yeah!

At first I thought I’d do a birthday complete with going to some chi-chi club.  But who am I kidding?  I won’t even have the energy to stay out past 1 am (unless it’s a concert ;), and besides, that’s not my style anymore.  What I really want to do was eat sweetbreads! I watch this show called Eat Out NYC and they featured sweetbreads.  Despite the fact that it’s actually quite gross if you think about it, I’ve been obsessed about trying them ever since.  So I arranged to have dinner this Sunday with a few friends (sans the kids) for a hearty meal.  Alas, the restaurant I really wanted to go to is actually closed for 4th of July weekend, so I’m going to Blue Ribbon instead –which is just as good.  So that, my folks, is how I’m going to celebrate my birthday.  And did I mention I’m going to Atlanta as well?  Girl’s trip! So it’s going to be a great birthday!

My Frivolous Birthday Wishlist:

  • A subscription to a trashy magazine like Us Weekly or People.  I heart celeb gossip!
  • A facial from Salon 5
  • Movie passes! Free tix to AMC or National Amusements theaters are always good!
  • Lessons for sword martial arts!  Don’t laugh, but I always pass by this studio called Kumdo near my house and I’ve always wanted to try it!
  • New clothes –still haven’t bought any.  In the end of the year, I’m going to do a spree at H&M!
  • A new copy of The Cure’s Disintegration album (mine is just too scratched up already)
  • Starbucks! And of course…
  • Cupcakes!! I heart chocolate cupcakes with mocha buttercream frosting from Cupcake Cafe or Red Velvet cupcakes from Magnolia or chocolate ones from Billy’s –but I always end up getting these for myself every year!  (which I don’t mind at all)

And that is all for now….

p.s. the title is from a Cure song (just in case you were wondering).

7 comments

  1. happy birthday kat. i’m nearing that age too.. and hey, you don’t look 32 at all!


  2. Three things:

    1. Congratulations! I’ve scanned through you previous entries (being the extremely frequent blogger that I am)… and Lil C is absolutely a darling.

    2. OMG! The Cure concert. *jealous*

    3. Advanced Happy Birthday dear! You don’t look a day over 30. 😉


  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! I wish I could grant you one on your wish list, but gee… I’m too poor. 😦 I’ll wish along with you instead. 🙂


  4. hehe… you don’t look like the kind of person who loves celeb gossip. i’ll go with you to H&M!

    enjoy your birthday and look young as always!


  5. hope you had a happy birthday!! and mmmm blue ribbon! yummers!!!!!
    and get a subscription to People not US Weekly, those bitches be talkin’ shit about my woman.


  6. belated happy birthday to a fellow cancerian! hehehe. i also posted a similar bday wishlist on my blog.


  7. girls usually love to hear celebrity gossips, they are always into it `”:



Leave a Reply

