h1

much ado about nothing

17 July 2008

Warning: this is basically just a long train of thought…

Of all the things I’d be doing on my birthday, I didn’t think cleaning the fridge, doing 3 loads of laundry,  cooking dinner, and packing would be it.  But that’s what I did last Wednesday on my birthday.  Thursday, however, I flew to Atlanta, Georgia with my friends Sol and G to visit our friend Trish.  I considered the trip to be my birthday present to myself.  I had fun and all that jazz, but the return flight pretty much killed the “fun-ness” of the trip.   We were supposed to depart at 10 am and be back here at 12:20 pm.  We were stuck on the runway for almost 5 hours waiting for take-off! Lovely, huh?  So when I came back home, I vowed never to fly again! Well, for at least a year or so!  Not that I can afford to go anywhere anyway!…

During the weekend, my friend G made a comment not only once, but twice!, about meeting my goal.  She was talking about the goal I set for myself to be fit which I wrote about here.  The fact that she brought it up pretty much says she didn’t think I looked good!  LOL!  I think she was expecting me to be skinny like her when I set that goal (I kid, I kid! I know she loves me *prays-G-doesn’t-get-hormonal-on-her*).  I may not look it, but I’m back to my pre-baby weight of 113 lbs!  And yes, this is despite not working out and eating ice cream everyday because breastfeeding rocks!  But it’s not about weight.  My main goal was to be able to fit into my old clothes again, which I do.  So by last month, I was able fit back into the clothes I care most about: my size 27 Seven jeans and my size 4 suits for work.  Also, the size 6 jeans I had to buy post-baby is now very loose on me!  Yehey!  Don’t get me wrong though.  I’m far from being skinny, and I’m flabby as hell, but at least I don’t have to buy new clothes or anything! I would like to work on getting toned though… even rockstar baby says “mommy tummy is big!”  So here’s an after pic taken very early in the morning before any sort of food was consumed! Hahaha… As you can see, the mom pooch is there, and it becomes even bigger once I eat something.

But this whole thing got me thinking, now that I’m a mom-of-two, it doesn’t really bother me that I haven’t made time to workout or tried to make myself super-thin.   It reminded me of what a co-worker said to me the other day: you don’t have to prove yourself to anyone but yourself.  Do I wish I had a six-pack?  Of course, who doesn’t?  But I’m actually content with what I look like right now.  It’s not like I was ever a twig to begin with, so of course I’m not going to be a twig post-partum.  I just have to take it day by day.  I also know that with every child, it gets exponentially harder to lose weight.  It’s a well-known fact.  One kid = hard to lose the baby weight.  Two kids= twice as hard to lose the baby weight…and so on.  It’s true.  I said so.

My friend Karen sent me the coolest birthday card ever (second only to a guitar bday card my friend Alina once gave me) that had cakes and cupcakes on it.  She said I got two kids, an understanding hubby, a house, and what more can I ask for?  She’s right.  She always puts things in perspective.  So even though I whine and shit, I know what I’ve got back home.

Li’l C turned 5 months old yesterday!  She’s getting baptized this Sunday.  She’s growing up.  *Sigh*  I’m glad I had some alone time with her when I took her to   Atlanta with me.  She was a very good traveler and only cried very briefly (like 2 minutes).  I think she could tell she wasn’t home though –she kept waking up in the middle of the night!  But she had fun.  She had her first plane ride and her first dip in the pool!  Fun times.

sunbathing cutie!

Special thanks to Chloe who I had the pleasure of meeting!  Thank you so much for the kids’ presents!

11 comments

  1. hey Kat– belated Happy Birthday! so glad to have met you and baby C. she is sooo adorable. and such a good and calm baby.

    btw, you look fantastic. don’t know why you need to lose more weight. you’re my idol, super Mom!!!


  2. happy belated birthday! and you do look like you lost a lot of weight, you look good!

    calla has grown really fast, i want to bite her chunky legs! 😀


  3. yeah, coz you’re so flabby and out of control! =p

    anyway, before your readers blast me with hate emails, i didn’t say or imply you didn’t look good. i just asked if you met your goal since, when you made it, i thought you were being too hard on yourself! i always said you looked good, even before you were whining about how you didn’t and how you felt fat and flabby and stuff…


  4. belated happy birthday kat! it didn’t occur to me to greet you when we talked on the phone, sorry! i am so regretting that i didn’t badger hubby to drive me up north to meet you and lil c. next time, i will surely make it a point to meet you. 🙂

    oist, sis, you look good! even better than me pa nga 4 years post partum, haha! 🙂


  5. hey, you look great! who says you’re a mom of two? but honestly, wow, that was fast! back to pre-baby weight after 5 months? hope i could do that too..


  6. Belated happy birthday, Kat! It’s good to see pictures of Li’l C here – so cute!


  7. oh my goodness, 5 hours on the runway. that’s like equivalent to one way trip.

    kat, to weigh 113 lbs after two kids is fantastic. you don’t need to lose more.

    I would love to take a trip and celebrate my birthday with close friends like you did.


  8. Oh gosh. Them damn airplanes. I just had a near-death (well not really, I’m just over-thinking as usual) experience on my way to Cali. I swore I’ll drive the next time I go on vacation, even if it takes forever. LOL.

    And hey, I didn’t forget. I just couldn’t get around blogging and all, but belated happy happy birthday. =)


  9. You look great Kat. 🙂

    And belated happy birthday!


  10. HAPPY BE-LATED BIRTHDAY. i hate that word be-lated…it’s like HAPPY BIRTHDAY…only it’s on the rag and bloated.
    sorry digressing.
    um. you look amazing!!! a mom of two? no way jose!


  11. haha!



Leave a Reply

