h1

“Who’s that 10 with a 6 who thinks she’s a 9?”

16 September 2008

You know what I’m talking about, right?  Well if you don’t, I’m talking about the hotness scale. One a scale of 1 to 10, where do you fit in? I love the line in my title post –it’s from The New Adventures of Old Christine (starring Julia Louis Dreyfuss of Seinfeld fame). I have seen only a handful of episodes and this one was pretty amusing; it’s the one where she’s dating Blair Underwood who is a firm 10, and she’s feeling like he’s out of her league but feels that she’s a solid 8. Much to her chagrin however, she realized people were saying “who’s that 10 with a 6 who thinks she’s a 9?”  This prompted her to go see a plastic surgeon ASAP.

I didn’t really get vain about my looks until I started getting older. It’s sad, but I think high school was the peak of my “beauty.” The only make-up I wore was my Revlon Blackberry lipstick (still an awesome shade, by the way) and black nail polish.  Heck, I don’t even think I used lip balm, but apparently I was considered “hot.” How do I know? The guys would do polls in school and ‘accidentally on purpose’ leave it lying around for the ladies to find. I was considered a firm 8.  Not that it was big deal. Our high school was tiny (my graduating class was a whopping 19 people) so that list basically relied on who’s hot on a rotating basis. But hey, I was in my teens, so of course I had youth on my side.  I was confident of who I was and I think it showed –hence, the lack of vanity for the most part.

My college freshman and sophomore year, however, was shot. I plummeted to a 5/6 for while (at least that’s how I felt on the inside).  I gained the infamous freshman 15, was at my heaviest by my sophomore year, and had low self-esteem.  I was trying to find my own look apart from trying to copy my roommate’s (see this post for reference), juggling an asshole of a boyfriend, and trying to figure out what I wanted to do with my life.  Then I ditched the asshole and it got better.  I began to watch what I ate, discovered that “carbs” included cookies and cake, and got some exercise here and there. By the time I was a junior, I felt more like a 7.  It also helped that I had friends who gave me healthy tips –like I should wash my face every night no fail (thanks Julie!), use moisturizer (which I do religiously, with SPF of at least 15), and started to use makeup such as pressed powder, eyeliner, eyebrow pencil (I have no eyebrows unfortunately), and even some bronzer from time to time.

Law school was when I kinda woke up and became more stylish.  This was also my “high-maintenance” phase where I bought and coveted designer duds and purses (that I’m still paying for to this day)!  I hit a new peak in terms of my own beauty. I worked out at the gym on a regular basis and became more toned and slim.  Make-up use also hit a new peak.  I started to use under-eye creams, tinted moisturizers, the occasional foundation, and some concealer (not all at once though!).  I also got a bikini wax (a Brazilian at that!) for the first time in my life.  Can you say ouch?  I also got pedicures, facials, and body treatments.  How I got the money for this on a law student budget?  Don’t ask!  But at least I held a job and of course, hello credit card!   But by my last year of law school (after I got married) and impending doom came around (aka THE BAR EXAM), I scaled back on the clothing and just wore mostly jeans/skirts/tee/tank top.  But I found a good balance of style and maintenance.   No more designer obsession and I had no time for any beauty treatments, but I still took care of my face.  So at this time, I was still clocking at 7 (or at least I think I was! Hahah)

When I hit my late twenties,  I got obsessed with youth, beauty, and maintenance again! I’m talking about the fine lines creeping under my eyes, the dark circles from staying up late, the gaunt thinness of my face. Ugh.  Now, I don’t care so much about clothing anymore, but really more about looking young.

I am always in the search for THE perfect under-eye treatment that will rid me of the bags, the dark circles, and fine lines. I use a total of 4 products on my face not counting make-up, although it still takes me 30 mins to get ready (including showering and dressing up).  Before I go to work, I do the whole Bare Escentuals thing (you know, the mineral powder foundation system),  put some blush on and think I look aight.  Then I get to work and I hear “oh Kat, you look tired!  Baby kept you up?”  Gee, thanks.  Way to make me feel old and busted! I feel I’m a whopping 5 now!  I wish my face was fatter (yes, you read that right) versus being thin and angular.  I think the last time my face looked great was when I was preggo with rockstar baby –I loved the added roundness to my face and the glow I got.  But now…it’s all about looking tired.  Ah, such is the life of a working mom.  Gone are the days when I can still pass for a recent college grad.

Today, I feel like a 5, but hopefully look like a 6.

9 comments

  1. Ouch! Yea, I feel ya. I’ve always been thought of as much younger than my age and now that’s all gone. Boohoo.


  2. ouch, what can i say? i don’t even look infront of the mirror nowadays.


  3. I’d rather look like a 6 and feel like a 4. Oh wait, that’s not healthy. Feel like a 6 and look like a 4. Hmm, there’s something not right there either.

    *junks all the numbers*

    Where are those potato chips?


  4. i totally know what you’re saying!!! i got a facial recently, and the lady who’s been doing my face for years now (even before i got married) just recommended eye cream for me 😦 how sad is that! but don’t worry…i think just having the filipino gene makes you look 10 years younger no matter what. plus…by the time lil’ c is in her toddler years, you’ll get back your mojo!!!


  5. You’ve always looked better than most of us and you’re definitely a MILF after you had Jacob (EVERYONE thought so!). I mean, you’re still a MILF but I think I understand why you feel like you’re a 5 (or whatever) even though we all think you’re up there in the 7’s atleast. It’s coz you’re tired and don’t feel like you have enough time for yourself.

    By the way, I’m using Darphin skin care these days. Their eyecream rocks the house. It’s a bit hard on the wallet but if you’re looking for an eye cream, I highly recommend it.


  6. and, karen, what’s up with the blog, woman???


  7. Hi there, just dropping by to say I have a tag for you! http://aizadgreat.com/2008/09/18/our-kids-names/

    Have a great day!


  8. Kat, when you try some of Girlie’s magic eye cream, let me know. I’d like to hit that, too. *tired-looking-mom-yawn*


  9. i feel the same way you do these days. i was flipping through my photo albums and looking at how young i looked before – i told myself i want to get that look back. but no matter what i do with my face, i realized i can’t. i can see some fine lines on my face now. i’m old!



Leave a Reply

