h1

project 365 – day 52 to day 57: rambling on…

2 May 2010

I took an entire week off from work.  Part of me was very guilty about that since I have a lot of work to do and my co-workers definitely had to help out.  Part of me knew it couldn’t be helped anyway.  I actually had a major trial that was supposed to go, but since I wasn’t there, it was handled for me.

I was thinking of going back to work last Friday, but decided what-the-hey, what is one more day?  That extra day definitely felt quite decadent and also selfish.  When you are not at work, it feels like one day blends into the other and you have no idea what date/day it is.

So tomorrow is my first day back.  I’m sure I’ll feel like I was never gone.

It’s back to the daily grind.  I will have exactly 12 days before my next trial.  I also have to play catch up with last week’s work that I missed.

But you know, that’s life.  I also feel guilty about worrying about work when it really should be the farthest thing from my mind.  I am still sad.  I’m sure the hubs is still sad, but he doesn’t really show it.   Grief is expressed in many different ways.

For me, all I did this week was eat and think about all the small stuff (i.e., worrying about work, worrying about packing up our house, etc) so that I am pre-occupied.

I also spent an absurd amount of money.  I hired a personal trainer despite my “no-using-my-credit-card” rule.  What can I say, I want to be healthy.  I want to live life.

Leave a Reply

