h1

project 365 – day 97/98: why can’t i be you?

11 June 2010

I’m still sticking to the book theme here. 

Last night, I read this really engrossing, haunting book entitled The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox.  It’s a little convoluted at first, but I ended up reading it in less than 3 hours.  On a work night.  I started after the kids were asleep and stayed up until 11:35 pm to finish.  I kept thinking about the characters as I tried to fall asleep.  It’s just one of those books where the characters resonate and you can’t help but think about their lives long after the novel has finished…yes, even though they are entirely fictional characters. 

I’ve read a lot of books like that. 

In contrast, I’ve also read a lot of books where I’m baffled as to how popular they are, and baffled as to how this person even got published!

I’ve mentioned (on numerous occassions, yes I know!) my dream of being a published author one day.  It was always a goal.  Something to do before I turned 21, then 25, then 28, then 30, and so on.  Well I’m about to turn 34 and I’m not getting any younger.  I’m just as good as some published authors out there.  Heck, I’ve even better than a lot of published authors out there.

Writing is really only 10% talent, and 90% dedication and commitment (I read that somewhere…).  I know I’m a great writer (maybe not in this blog, but I’ve written my fair share of awesome work =), and I can do it.  My only problem is that I’m LAZY.  I’m a dreamer.  I dream of things and have all these lofty goals but I don’t actually do anything about it.  My problem is that I also have about a million and one hobbies –reading, writing, writing songs, playing in a band, etc…  (and that’s on top of being a working mother with 2 little kids).

I can’t concentrate.

But I owe it to myself to at least start a concrete outline of the novel that’s always been in my head. 

So what I’m going to do is start posting what I have –whether it be snippets, a whole chapter, or what have you. 

It’s time.

One comment

  1. well i can’t wait to read it!



Leave a Reply

