h1

project 365 – day 30: happy birthday to you!

23 February 2010

I’m behind on posts, so here’s another one:

Happy, happy birthday Karen! One of my dearest and oldest friends –oldest not because of age, but oldest because I’ve known her since the 6th grade!

Karen and I met in Mr. Hession’s homeroom class in the 6th grade at Virgil Junior High.  We were both “fresh off the boat” and I asked her in Tagalog “Pilipino ka?” –already assuming that she was, because I knew she was!  We’ve bonded ever since.

She was a Math genius, and I was an English genius.  We studied together, ate together, laughed together, commiserated together (ah, teen angst –how strict our moms were! why wouldn’t they even let us “hang out” with other friends like normal kids were doing at our age?! We hate you! I want to die!).  Her house was the only other house my mom would let me sleep over (aside from our other friend Michelle –different story altogether).

This chick knew me and knows me still.  We didn’t get to go to high school together (my mom thought I should be in private school so I wouldn’t get into more shenanigans).  But we still remained friends as much as we could.  She was there when I first met my first boyfriend ever; acted as chaperone when we went to go see shows; and let me use her for “alibis.”

Alas during college, we didn’t keep in touch.  But we did after college, and discovered how totally similar we were in terms of the things we studied (Sociology, Filipino immigration and social theories, etc.)  We lived together in NYC and that’s how we caught up with each other’s lives again.  Not only is she part of my life again, but she’s made friends with my friends (that’s how loveable and likeable this woman is).

She may live 3,000 miles away but it really doesn’t seem like a long-distance relationship at all.

Last year, we went to Cancun together and had an awesome time (beginning from when we looked for each other at the airport for over two hours!) She’s due to visit NYC soon and I can’t wait!  We have so many more adventures together! Next up, Prague!

Happy Birthday Ms. K!  See you soon!

Leave a comment