h1

project 365 – day 50: 16 & pregnant

14 April 2010

Ever see this MTV show?  It’s crazy how freaking stoopid some of these kids area.  I don’t watch it on a regular basis, but if I pass by the channel, I wind up watching for a bit.

I was so mature at 16.  I know, I know, you are rolling your eyes.  But let me just say that when I was 16 and I knew I was ready to have sex, I did my research.  I read about pregnancy, I read about the pill, I read about the emergency contraceptive pill, condoms, and other forms of phrophylactics.  I don’t think a lot of teenagers know that in the event of any emergency (like say, the condom breaks), you can use the emergency contraceptive pill to prevent possible pregnancy.  I knew about it because I read about it, and how to get it in the event of an accident.  And I pride myself on being responsible.  I was also lucky in that I was in a great relationship with a great guy who did not dump me after he got some.  It wasn’t like in “16 & pregnant” where they’ve only been dating for a like a week and then they do it!

I am not against pre-marital sex.  I will probably eat my words once the kids are actually teenagers and I’ll have to deal with it.  But still.  I do not think it’s morally wrong to have pre-marital sex like some people do.  That’s not how life works, unfortunately.  So I do advocate for safe sex.  And I think that sex should be with someone you know, trust and care about deeply, and hopefully, be in love with!  But that’s just me.  I also think that once you are an adult with more experience, you certainly have the right to choose with whom to have sex with, whether casual or serious, as long as everything is consensual and you know the consequences of your actions.

Alas, it’s harder to make consensual choices when you are a minor under 18.  It’s harder to use your judgment when you are young and full of hormones, I know.  But again, it’s all about consequences and thinking about the worst case scenario.   Gawd…I have no idea what to tell the kids when they need “the talk.”

And I have no idea why this is today’s post.

2 comments

  1. Love the show! I do agree with you and I am also an advocate for safer sex. I remember when I was 16 thinking and feeling the same way – I think it also really depends on your upbringing as well.


  2. I also advocate for safe sex. When it comes to Bea, I advocate for abstinence. I know. I’m a hypocrite. Shoot me! 😛



Leave a comment